top of page



OvejaNegra formed in the Summer of 2018, several months after its four original members captured the attention of vocalist and lyricist, SKBROK, who previously worked with keyboardist and composer, Sefare. SKB began writing and music naturally followed, presenting the need for something else: more percussion, more brass. This was the beginning of new fusion of Afro and Caribbean rhythms. The band incorporates sounds from Reggae, Chicha, Calypso, Ska and Cumbia. Their unique contribution is an homage to psychedelic Soul, Funk, HipHop and Punk Rock. OvejaNegra’s rich Chicano sound lies in its rhythm section. Its members are predominantly Mexican American, and together, as a whole, the band renders a new voice on the Chicago music scene, a voice that captures the urban lyricism of Chicago’s style and essence that lends presence and testimony to the place they call home.


Vocals: SkbRok

Drums: Raul Fernandez

Percs: Carlos Bueno / Mathew Higueros

Bass: Sean Santiago

Guitar: Eduardo Rodriguez el Gansito

Guitar: Alex Glz

Keys: John Guerrero aka Sefare

The Brassholes Tbone: Rook

Pet: Wei

Sax: Gekko

bottom of page